RSS

Mini-rant

15 Oct

You know, sometimes I think that I should take this blog down, because I don’t pay a lot of attention to it anymore.  It’s been 8 months since I’ve posted anything at all.  But today, I feel impelled to do so by something that happened a couple of days ago.  I updated my wishlist for an annual holiday swap in which I particpate, and almost immediately, got a Comment on my blog.  Not on my wishlist, but on a post that is *years* old.  The original post I wrote when I was accidentally banned from Ravelry during a particularly tense time in Rav’s history back in March of 2009!  A post that is over four years old.  A post for which there are several follow-up posts that say that I was un-banned and that I still love Ravelry.  Apparently, the commenter only saw the “banned” post, didn’t check the date, didn’t check to see what happend, nothing else. Needless to say, I did not approve the comment and it will not appear on my blog.

Here’s why:

I’m so sorry that this person, whoever he or she is, appears to be having problems with specific people on Ravelry who may have a little bit of power (individual forum mods, I guess), but my barely-used blog is NOT the place to solve it.  This is not Ravelry Customer Service.

Fellow Ravelers, if you are having problems with a specific individual on Ravelry, I suggest you use the Contact Us link on the Ravelry website to notify The Powers That Be (aka TPTB), not post about it out on the internet.  First of all, posting comments about your Rav-dissatisfaction on my blog would be highly ineffective, because I’m not TPTB, and because, frankly, hardly anyone actually READS my blog.  That’s probably because I don’t write that often, and when I do, I don’t write anything that is particularly interesting to others, only to me.  And secondly, unless the fellow Raveler posting comments here knows me well, they cannot be sure that I’m not some vindictive twit who will go off and find them on Rav and make their RavWorld unpleasant.  Or something.  OK, so I’m not really like that, but it could happen, right?

/rant

 

Leave a Reply

 
