RSS

The uncertain glory of an April day!

20 Apr

The quote above is from Shakespeare, because I couldn’t think of a witty title tonight. It fits rather well, because there *is* some glory, but it’s rather uncertain. I know that it’s been Forever and Two Days since my last post, and that’s because I haven’t had much of anything to say – no new knitted FOs, no job on the horizon, and I was getting pretty darned down about it. But lo and behold! I sit before my computer now, an Employed Person who is also knuckle-deep in a new project. 🙂

Last week, I started a contract position as a project manager, working with the systems testing team on an (outsourced) application development project for my State. It’s very interesting, since I’ve never done anything in apps development before, always sticking in my little contact center world when it came to projects. All new people to get to know, lots to learn, and a crazy-messed-up-behind-schedule project to manage. That’s the Glory part, and I should be in heaven, right? Especially since I’m getting paid pretty well, as hourly rates go, to do this. Right?

Well, not exactly. This is where the Uncertain part comes into play. The job is only for six months right now, but it could be extended longer (the project has an additional 18 months or so to run after my piece is done), or it could possibly work into a regular employment position. Maybe. But that “maybe” part makes me nervous, of course. And the company that is contracting for my services was recently acquired by a large global firm, which also makes me nervous, coming on the heels of my bad experience with being a victim of a merger-related workforce reduction. 😛 And finally, the commute is awful for me, because I’m a spoiled-rotten brat who got awfully used to working either from home or 10 minutes away. Now it’s an hour-plus each way, and I’m exhausted. I’m sure I’ll get used to it eventually, but man, this working-for-a-living thing is really eating into my Ravelry and Facebook time! (not to mention my knitting time!) LOL

The new knitting project? Well, that’s going swimmingly now that I have my brain screwed on straight about it (I did do quite a bit of frogging in the first couple of repeats). It’s Lily of the Valley Scarf (Ravelry Link) from Nancy Bush’s Knitted Lace of Estonia, a beautiful book that is simply chock-full of gorgeous lacy-goodness to knit. Oh, the joy of the nupp! There’s nothing quite like trying to P5 slippery little devils together to make you feel like an Accomplished Knitter. 😉 I’m making mine in a single luscious hank of Handmaiden Fine Yarn Sea Silk, a gift from a Ravelry friend. I adore this yarn. It’s pretty much the Holy Grail of Sheepless Knitting, as far as I’m concerned, and I want more of this yummy stuff. NOW! Sadly, none of my LYS carry any Handmaiden yarns. But I will get some, I know that I will! Possibly as soon as I get a real paycheck! 😀

That’s it for now. I will try hard to post more often, but not makin’ any promises – right now, at 7:54 PM on a beautiful Tuesday evening, I’d like nothing more than to just fall into bed and sleep for several days. 😛

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

