RSS

Not the FO you were expecting

07 Dec

Well, I finally have some FO pics to post, but it’s not what you are expecting, I’m sure. You see, besides knitting (and surfing Ravelry and Facebook and reading), I have another hobby. I don’t get to use this talent often because:

  1. It’s not cheap to do
  2. There’s only so many of these I can use in my own home (I’ve run out of flat surfaces on which to place them!
  3. While I do enjoy it, it’s not quite as consuming as knitting – 15 minutes or so, and I’m done with the entire project!  Ugh…

So.  My not-so-dirty little secret?  For a Jewish girl, I have a rather unseemly fascination with making floral arrangements and wreaths and swags and other such ornamental decor for Christmas! Kind of silly, huh?  But there it is.  Or rather, here it is:

It’s for a colleague of my husband’s, who has been having a rough time the last couple of  years.  We ran into her this past weekend at Big Lots.  We were hunting for C9 holiday lights, and she was hunting to replace all sorts of things that she lost in an acrimonious break-up with her former fiance, which occurred after she’d been very ill for a number of months last year.  Now that she’s settled into a new home, she’s actually got a whole new set of health issues.  I just felt like she needed a pick-me-up for the holidays.  Hopefully, this will help a little bit.  Since she was hunting for a red and gold foil garland, that’s the main color scheme I chose.  What do you think?  Will she like it?  Husband will be delivering it tomorrow morning.  I’m quite sure that the other mechanics in the shop are going to provide him with an earful over this, but meh – husband can deflect and deal with it.  🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2009 in Life in General, Work and Home

 

4 responses to “Not the FO you were expecting

  1. Deneen

    December 8, 2009 at 5:36 am

    It’s very pretty and a nice gesture.

    Jewish girl thing with Christmas wreaths, swags, etc. One of my online buds, another Jewish girl, has a fascination with making snowflake ornaments for Christmas trees and then mails them out to all she knows who celebrates Christmas.

     
  2. Lisa

    December 8, 2009 at 6:28 am

    I think it is LOVELY and a perfect pick-me-up! I hope your friend will be ok.

     
  3. Roadchick

    December 9, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    I think it’s lovely.

    And wouldn’t it be nice for all those big, strong mechanics to go decorate the outside of her house for her for the holidays???

     
  4. mildawg

    December 11, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    It is lovely. Thank you for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
