RSS

Memories…

05 Nov

I remember analyzing the lyrics of this song in 6th grade English, where we had the coolest teacher ever.  I wish I could remember his name, but (sorry, bad pun) it was a long, long time ago.  I remember that he had long, fuzzy hair in a ponytail, wore a long black wool coat in the winter, rode a bicycle to work every day, and thought that the best way to teach poetry to adolescents was by using the lyrics of their beloved music.  He was right, too!

 

 

On the knitting front – currently working on Emerald Isle Cardigan (Ravelry link) for myself, and some of My Grandmother’s Slippers (another Ravelry link) for holiday gifts. Have Hey Teach back on time out, because it’s been a bad, bad project. (hehehe!) And one of these days I need to get some time to block Tuscany and photograph the finished product. I think it will be gorgeous once it is blocked. 🙂 Also have a second (plain stockinette) sock in Panda Cotton (Ravelry link) on the needles, and really ought to finish that up and start the 2nd Yarn-over-Cable sock in Panda Soy (you guessed it, yes, yet another Ravelry link!) made, as well. I am really loving my hand-knit socks this fall, even if they aren’t woolly warm ones. ^_^

 
 

3 responses to “Memories…

  1. Judy Miller

    November 15, 2009 at 6:26 am

    I just read this posting. American Pie is one of my favorites. It was popular the second year of our marriage( I must be LOTS younger than you!) and I think I drove my husband crazy by playing it over and over. He think it’s funny that I have it on my ipod now. I love the video–thanks for sharing.

    I am on Ravelry all the time, but had not seen My Grandmother’s Slippers. I learned to knit on that pattern! Fun to see it again.

    I look forward to reading your blog more.

     
    • marlajap

      November 15, 2009 at 8:18 am

      Actually, I was just a kid when American Pie came out, so I think you are a few years older than I am. We’ll say you’re old enough to be my cousin, ok? 😉 (Most of my cousins were getting married in the late 60’s and early 70’s, as a matter of fact!)

       
  2. Shel

    November 30, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Hi–happened up on your blog via a Ravelry wandering. My strongest memory of American Pie is a little feature Bob Garfield did on NPR, long long ago, interviewing a guy who was convinced that American Pie was a prophetic extension of the Bible. From this link here: http://www.roytaylorministries.com/ (the AP bit is down a ways). It does indeed take all kinds to make a world.

    And isn’t it great to have teachers who know how to capture the imagination?

    Have a great day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
