RSS

Scraps of yarn and life

26 Aug

Well, it’s certainly been a busy and interesting time since I last posted, but I am not sure that my writing skills are up to providing a witty description of it all.  So, I’ll keep it short.  I have gotten really busy at work recently, being selected to work on a cross-functional global project team related to the merger of my employer with the huge IT company that purchased us last year.  Busy, busy, busy – days and days full of long conference calls, to the point where my cordless telephone battery kept dying.  And so, of course, because I had interesting, necessary work ahead of me for months and months and felt mildly secure in my job for the first time in a year, I was notified yesterday that my position had been eliminated effective immediately, so that I now have 60 days to find a new job internally or will be separated from the company.  Yes, I’ll get a decent severance package by today’s standards, and yes, that 60 days is really helpful.  But, Waaaaaaa!  It’s been TEN YEARS since my last external job hunt, so I’m quite hoping that something comes up internally, and am refusing to go down without a fight.  Already have submitted my resume to a couple of internal hiring managers, as well as the best-known internet job boards.

On the knitting front, I’ve completed all knitting and seaming on a cute little baby cardi for a person whose name cannot yet be mentioned (it’s a surprise), and just need to weave in a couple of final ends, wash it and mail it.  (About time, that baby is due next week!!)  The pattern I used was a freebie, Baby Picchu from Berroco, which is pretty easy and very quick, since it’s actually made in a worsted/aran weight yarn!  Yay!  Of course, I didn’t use the yarn it requests (Berroco Pure Merino), due to my allergies and my firm believe that a new mama needs to have the easiest possible laundry routine.  So, since this isn’t an item a child would sleep in anyway, I went ahead and used Berroco Comfort, a really excellent acrylic.  It looks fabulous, if I do say so myself, and will get some pictures up once the new mama has the sweater in her hands.

My Facebook friends, many of whom are people I haven’t seen since the mid-1980’s or even longer, are really getting to know me better.  One of them, a fellow I knew when I was in college and living in Central California, messaged the following video to me – very cool!  I wouldn’t do it myself (crazy!), but I think it’s really cool that someone did.  🙂

And so, now that I have updated my three regular readers (lol!), I’m off to visit those internet job boards and especially the internal ones for my company, to look for more opportunities.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

 
