RSS

Once banned, but not twice shy…

20 Mar

It’s so good to be back on Ravelry. I’ve been reading forums and posting like crazy in my favorite groups since my return, gazed lovingly at my projects page, stash, library, etc., pleased to see everything was just as I’d left it. But I learned some things while I was on my little unintended Ravelry vacation via temporary banning.

1. I learned that I am addicted to Ravelry. (LOL!). Yes, I am. Hello, my name is Marla, and I am addicted. My last Ravelry fix was 45 minutes ago. Guess what? I’m OK with that, I’ve decided that this is an addiction I can live with. Much healthier than my nicotine addiction or my Diet Coke addiction, to say the least! =)
2. I learned that I have some really good friends there, who missed me and stood up for me, pleading my case or just keeping me company on facebook or twitter, the KP community or even live and in person.
3. I learned that I place a high value on the Ravelers I truly care about, and that, while those casual acquaintances are great, they probably don’t belong in my friends list. I want my friends list to reflect those people that I have come to know pretty well, that I care about and that I believe care what happens to me. So one of the first things I did upon being welcomed back into the Ravelry fold was to narrow my friends list down to the people I really want to be friends with. Over the next week or two, I will add more of those important, cared-for folks to the list.
4. And I learned which forums (groups) I really missed, which helped me to weed out the ones I joined just to have them in my group list to “say something about me”, and which ones I really follow, enjoy spending time in, and truly belong in. So one of the next things I did this week, upon returning to the site, was to purge my groups lists of those that I’ve only posted in once or twice (or maybe even not at all), and get the list down to the ones that I really participate in, either by frequently reading or by actually posting there.
5. I also discovered that I really can talk myself into ordering a Ravelry T-Shirt, something I’ve steadfastly refused to do previously. I thought it was sort of silly – a T-shirt for a website? I mean, really? Well, I guess I’m kind of goofy, but there you have it. Once I was welcomed back to the site, post-banning, with open arms, several PMs from friends, and a bunch more friends and acquaintances who barely realized I was gone (LOL!), I knew that I just had to have me one of those Bob-in-the-yarn-pile shirts. So I ordered one yesterday.
6. I learned that there are other ways to spend my time than obsessively surfing Rav forums, patterns and yarns. I could buy some more yarn (not an economical choice, and I’d probably do that with or without Ravelry!!).

But I could organize my yarn stash.

The neatly stored and sorted stash, residing in my walk-in closet

The neatly stored and sorted stash, residing in my walk-in closet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or neaten up my knitting books and magazines.

Books in a box (that used to hold yarn stash)

Books in a box (that used to hold yarn stash)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or swatch for a pretty spring cardigan.

Plymouth Jeannee Geeky Thing

Plymouth Jeannee Geeky Thing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or spend a little time with one of my WIPs:

Tuscany by Amy R. Singer, No Sheep for You, in Ella Rae Silkience

Tuscany by Amy R. Singer, "No Sheep for You", in Ella Rae Silkience

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. I learned that I can knit Continental style, and it probably is a bit faster. But I cannot purl Continental style worth a damn. Seed stitch? HOPELESS! Sigh….that knit stitch sure seems speedy when I just scoop that yarn up and move on to the next stitch…
8. Unfortunately, I also learned that, unless I’m working garter stitch, I pretty much prefer knitting English style. Because my Continental purling is sooooooo slow and clumsy, I’m faster overall if I knit English. 😛
9. And finally, I learned that I must, ordinarily, have the most boring, dull, uninteresting blog in all of the interwebz, because I have had more traffic since Saturday, March 14 (start of my period of time as one of the Ravelry Banned) than I had in any six months of 2008!!

I mostly blog in order to talk to myself in a way that doesn’t encourage the people around me to send for a pretty white jacket with the wrap-around sleeves and send me to visit a rubber-padded room. Still, it’s nice to think that someone, somewhere finds my jabbering even a little bit interesting. So all this lovely traffic has been nice, but I do expect it to dwindle back to normal very soon (damn it). I hope that some of those searching the internet for tales of Ravelry banishment woe in all of its gory detail will have enjoyed my prose enough to come back soon! It’s not much, but you’ll have continuing opportunities to read of my knitting adventures, life with my three oversized pre-schoolers (my husband and two sons), and other such random musings.

And with that, I leave my lovely readers with this fabulous thought for the worker bees among you:

Thank goodness it’s FRIDAY! 

(Don’t get me wrong – I love my job 99.5% of the time. But I love my personal time, too! :D)

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Once banned, but not twice shy…

  1. Barbara Rall

    March 20, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    I want to commend you on your understanding and patient reaction to the mistaken banning and reinstatement on ravelry. Your reaction makes it clear you were not one of the rabid troublemakers.

     
    • marlajap

      March 20, 2009 at 2:25 pm

      Thanks. I appreciate the pat on the back. But it’s soooooo nice to be back! 😀

       
  2. bagheraa

    March 20, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Just wanted to give you a love(1)
    After reading tons of negative blog posts about this, I was so HAPPY to find yours!!

     
    • marlajap

      March 20, 2009 at 3:53 pm

      Thanks to you, too! All this nice feedback makes me feel so happy! 😀

       
  3. Jamie

    March 20, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Try purling combined…bring the yarn forward, then put the needle in the stitch from back to front just as you would ordinarily purl, but have the yarn UNDER your working needle, and scoop it just like you do when knitting.

    The only drawback (and it can have positive applications!) is that this creates a twisted stitch, so you have to remember to knit/purl into the back loop on the next row/round. The positive application is when doing twisted rib, the stitch is already twisted for you. Very nice for socks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
