RSS

I’m so sad…why am I banned?

14 Mar

For some reason, I have been banned from Ravelry as of this morning. I am clueless as to why this has occurred. I don’t recall ever having a serious argument with anyone on Ravelry, or upsetting someone, or otherwise doing something outside the community guidelines. I’ve never been told I was doing something wrong, never been a member of a bothersome group (as far as I know). I help moderate two reasonably peaceful groups (Jewish Fiberaholics and Knit Picks Options), and don’t recall doing anything to upset someone there, either. I spend most of my “hanging out” time on Ravelry either surfing yarns and patterns or swapping yarn on Karma Yarn Swap and/or hunting for bargains on the ISO/Destash board.

I read something on some other blogs a few minutes ago (because I surfed to see if other people had been banned or if it was maybe a massive Ravelry outage) that seems to indicate it’s related to linking to Ravelry from a certain off-site location that is causing a disruption of some sort. Well, geez, I don’t even know any of those people upon whose blogs I found those comments, never “hung out” with them (except for maybe one person, who is probably in my friends list), was never a member of their (now closed) forum, and I don’t belong to their off-site group, either. I may have linked to a pattern or a group in Ravelry on this blog or on knittinghelp.com, but if that was a disruption, shouldn’t that have been announced somewhere, shouldn’t I have been warned in some way?

I”m so confused. And so sad. I really want to understand what I have done wrong. And I really want my Ravelry back. 😦

 
 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “I’m so sad…why am I banned?

  1. Sorry

    March 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Sorry you were caught in a dragnet put out by Ravelry. That’s the problem with a site you don’t manage until it goes haywire. You end up with things that hurt those who were innocent.

     
    • marlajap

      March 14, 2009 at 6:55 pm

      Thanks for the virtual tea & sympathy. It’s pretty weird – I don’t think I’ve posted much about politics one way or the other…except to attempt to control a couple of rather heated threads on the JFaH forum during election season. And even then, it was pretty much a “let’s all settle down and have a polite, rational discussion, please” sort of thing. So I’m really, really lost as to now this happened. It must be a mistake. 😦

       
  2. FloridaMo

    March 15, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Whaaat??!!

    There was a Note From Ravelry posted yesterday, here’s the cut & paste:

    A group of users have been organizing together on another website and visiting Ravelry directly from it, disrupting normal site activities. All users of that particular site have had their Ravelry accounts (including any duplicate accounts) suspended until further notice. This is a serious action that we felt needed to be done to protect the Ravelry community.

    All inquiries can be directed to legal@ravelry.com.

    I’ve sent an email pleading your case this morning, please do so yourself because we miss you and want you back NOW!

     
    • marlajap

      March 15, 2009 at 11:53 am

      Thanks, Mo, I appreciate that very much. I am completely baffled – I’m not at all political, and I feel as though I’ve always done my part to keep Rav a happy place. I, too , sent a message (2, actually) to the “legal@ravelry.com” address to plead my case, and sent a copy of that message to Casey using the Ravelry “contact us” links off the log in page. I just tried one more time to log in, and I’m still banned, but I have a private message waiting – most frustrating, since I can’t read it. If the person who PMed me on Rav should happen to read this, PLEASE – comment here on my blog…or contact ravelry users nandodge, textilejunkie, or anonaesq, who all know how to contact me through facebook.

       
  3. Amy

    March 15, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Same thing happened to me, and I am also completely clueless. I don’t flame, and I’m non-political (am a member of an Obama fan group, but don’t post).

    I’m assuming it was an innocent mistake, and they will correct it. Otherwise, I will pout until I have creases in my face, and then ask the Ravelry Powers that Be to pay for my face lift.

     
  4. bannedfromrav

    March 17, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I am banned as well–I have been trying to figure out why. If it is just political, why have I been included?
    I have about 6 posts in 8 months, all are for my local knitting group, none are for politics.
    I have emailed as directed, but haven’t heard anything, it is very frustrating!

     
    • marlajap

      March 17, 2009 at 4:16 pm

      It seems like you and I and amyknitson, among possible others, have been swept up accidentally. Not sure how it happened, but I do gather from others whohave not been banned that it’s just going to take some time to wade through all of the communiques. So, we’re stuck being patient for now. Me, I’ve got knitting night with Roadchick tonight, where I intend to whine a lot in person, and swatch for a spring cardigan. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
