RSS

MWIR (my week in review) – perils and purls

06 Dec

And the sadness at work just went on and on this week.  A woman with a great deal more seniority than I, and more experience in my field, as well, called me this week to inquire as to whether I had any openings on my program or knew of any job openings.  She’s a really great person, and completely excellent at her job, so it’s quite disappointing.  A very key resource for one of the initiatives in my program was also laid off, leaving the initiative short handed and a bit confused in trying to pick up where she left off.  It was really hard to keep my focus on work this week.  😦

On the knitting front, I finished a worsted-weight slipper sock made in Berocco Comfort in a pretty cherry red.  Sadly, the kitchener in the toe looks crappy, the woven-in end came out and is toooooo short to weave back in, too, so I don’t know what I’ll do there.  I think it just winds up to be a waste of a perfectly lovely $6.50 ball of yarn.  😦  So, with my attention span lacking, my Clapotis long past the stage of being “portable”, and no socks I care to be knitting (because my worsted one looks bad, coming undone; my fingering one in Kollage Luscious doesn’t feel all that luscious), and a pair of fingerless mitts hibernating OTN for the better part of this year, I was at a loss what to knit.  I’m supposed to be starting to test-knit a pair of fingerless mitts for a Ravelry friend sometime soon (I have the information, just need to print it out), but I didn’t feel like working on something where I had to follow a written pattern…plus, I have no printer attached to this laptop, which is actually my work computer and so hyper-secure that it doesn’t talk to anything else on my home net, so I had no way to print it out.  (due to the lack of unoccupied time on the home-owned computers here!  LOL!)
 

So, what did I do?  Did I get stubborn and knit on my Clapotis anyway?  No.  Did I pick up those darned fingerless mitts being made with the Blue Sky Alpaca Silk that was my very first LYS purchase last winter?  No.  And I didn’t work on that not-so-Luscious sock, nor did I cast on with the nice new medium teal BS Alpaca Silk I purchased a couple of weeks ago to use for the test knit.  I grabbed a nice fresh $2.12 ball of DROPS Alpaca and cast on to un-vent some fingerless mitts of my own.  Except I’m absolutely clueless on how to create the thumb…so I think maybe I’d better test-knit my friend’s pattern before I go any further on my unvention, since her pattern will be the first one I’ve done with a thumb on it!  It’s either that or I do a good web search on “afterthought thumb” or something.  The things I get myself into…Oh, well, being a semi-fearless knitter is far more fun than “sticking to what I know” all the time.  If I did that, I would never learn anything new at all!

 
Got a wee bit of holiday shopping done today, a couple of things for each son.  I know my older son went shopping this past Tuesday and took care of his father and brother, so that’s a good start for him.  I don’t have anything for the husband yet, and I don’t think he or my sons have purchased anything for me yet.  And none of us have purchased for hubby’s parents yet.  My MIL seems rather enamored of my new big tote bag/purse from retrogradesonnet’s Thirty-One site, so I might get her one like it or at least similar. These bags can be a bit pricey, but they are oh-so-worth it – really well-made, big, nice design, and free personalization (either a hang-tag letter or embroidery – I had my first and last initials put on mine). If you’ve never seen Thirty-One’s stuff, please check it out at the link above, which is to retro’s “store” on their site. If you don’t already know of retro, she’s a Raveler, the founder of the Karma Yarn Swap forum, and also a really nice person. My FIL is always a bit of challenge to shop for, as his hobbies all involve power tools, and he has pretty much anything he could want at home in Wisconsin, plus they have limited storage space in the winters, since they are bumming around the Southeast in their motorhome from Thanksgiving to around April 1st. We shall see what husband says on the bag idea, not to mention what he thinks we should get his Dad. FIL is a big Westerns buff – likes the old TV and movie westerns a lot, so maybe some more DVDs might work – we’ve done that before, though, and it gets tiresome getting the same thing from people year after year, doesn’t it?

That’s it for now. Happy shopping, all! 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
