RSS

Of knitting mojo lost

28 Jul

Last weekend, I thought I was such a smarty knitter when I “created” my own lace pattern for the cuff of a sock by sort of crossing two patterns that I like.  So, using the already-completed 1×1 ribbing section of OYT Bamboo, I began knitting my little lacy cuff.  And all went well through Friday night and Saturday during the day.  It was looking really pretty, if not quite how I pictured it in my head.  And then came dinner out on Saturday night, and errands on Sunday morning.  I took my sock along, as I have done with others in the recent past.  And I kept on knitting, making a note each time I had to stop as to where I left off.  So all should be well, right?

 

Wrong.  Somehow, someway, it’s all wrong.  The first 1.5 repeats of the pattern look beautiful.  From there, it’s a big mess.  More frogging.  I swear, if I don’t get out of this little knitting funk, I’m going to grow webbed feet and start croaking.  I didn’t have the heart to frog it last night, so I spent the night watching the Karma Yarn Swap on Ravelry.  That forum moves so fast that you actually can spend an entire hour (or two or three) watching it!  Oy.  It’s addicting, I swear it is!  Don’t go there, my fellow Ravelers!  Once you enter KYS, you may never come back out.  Even if you never claim or offer something – it’s like playing the slot machines in Vegas – you’re sure that the perfect offer for you is right around the corner.  When I wasn’t doing that, I did manage to get the buttons sewn on to my own Dot Check Cardi (FINALLY!!), only to discover that it is a bit wide in the waist/hip, and perhaps a bit shorter than I had thought.  Beautiful, but not the best fit.  It’s a cotton/acrylic blend, so I will try blocking it this weekend and see if that helps…I did lose a little weight over the last couple of months, particularly across the belly/hips, so that possibly explains the off-sizing.  At the moment, it looks as though I stole it from a really rather chubby child.

 

I didn’t have the heart to frog it tonight, either, so I spent the evening alternately surfing Ravelry for a project that suits my yarn, stalking the afore-mentioned KYS forum, and swatching one of my craigslist yarns (the blue Patons Rio on my acquisitions page here or in my stash on Ravelry) in plain stockinette.  And yes, my knitting mojo is so lost right now that I even managed to make a mistake in a freakin’ swatch.  Now, THAT I’m definitely not frogging or tinking, that would just be stupid, eh?  🙂  Hmmm.  Maybe I need to crochet something to find my knitting mojo.  Interesting thought – take a break from knitting to get back into the groove.  Hmmmm.  Nah.  Haven’t got a clue what I’d crochet, either.  I really think that’s half the problem – I just don’t have a pattern I’m all excited to knit right now.

 

Oh, well, time to hit the pillow and try for some sleep.  Tomorrow is another day.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
