RSS

Quickies again (I hope)

17 Apr

Okay, been a while since I posted, so lots to talk about.  Hmmmm…where to start?

Well, knitting.  Hmmm.  I started a modified dot check cardi for my friend using the Reynolds Tucson in my stash.  I say modified because I’m doing it as sort of a cross between that pattern and the Hexacomb – fewer garter stitch rows, but with color variation, for the hems, and a short, cropped cardi overall.  Not sure yet whether I will do the full collar or not, might just do the garter stitch rows as shown on Hexacomb.  Only time will tell if this is a good thing or a disaster.  I got through the left front last week, except that, just when I was on the last few rows before binding off the neck, I realized that I had reversed the RS/WS way down at the ribs or so.  Sigh.  I finished it off anyway, and briefly considered duplicating the error on all other pieces, but UGH – I like it better the right way, so I will frog that one if I have to, or otherwise just keep it as a template for sizing.  🙂

Went back to the nice craigslist poster’s garage last weekend and picked up some more yarn I never heard of – it’s called Cuba, and I can’t remember who made it, but it looks beautiful – I got lots of red and black, and had hoped to use it for a Stargazer sweater, but it won’t come up to gauge.  Still, it will reside quietly in the stash until I find something to do with it.  I scored 16 skeins of the stuff (10 black, 6 red) and two sets of sz 3 circulars (one Addi 16″, one Inox 40″) for $26.  Pretty cool.  Except that the Cuba is splitty…and that gauge thing…

On a non-knitting note or two – GO D-BACKS!!  11-4 on the season so far, as of yesterday.  Woo-freakin’-hoo!  And the Red Sox?  Well, they had a *really* bad day yesterday, so let’s not talk about that.  LOL!  Damn, I do so love baseball, but I never get to watch it – I won’t pay for MLB Extra Innings, even if I could get it from my cable company – $200??  Yeesh.  I do get MLB.TV on line, but can never get a hold of one of the two computers in my house with a decent graphics card to watch.  Grrrr.

Under the heading of shameless plugging, a good friend of mine is involved in a worthy charitable endeavor – she is the adoption coordinator for a ferret shelter here in the mid-south.  The shelter is a rescue and re-homing organization, but also deals quite a lot with ferrets who are not appropriate for re-homing, either because they are ill or older, etc.  If you have ever been interested in ferrets as pets or are just one of those people who’s a sucker for a cute little face, like me, please visit their website, www.theferrethaven.org, or at the new blog I talked them into starting,  http://www.theferrethaven.blogspot.com/.  The blog doesn’t have much up yet, but try them again in a couple of weeks. 

Ok, guess I’d better get back to work now, huh?  Not much going on today, just waiting for people to reply to stuff I’ve sent them.  Sigh…

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
