RSS

I finally did it!

19 Jan

Blue Sky Alpaca Silk

I finally managed to bite the proverbial bullet and buy some very pretty yarn at the LYS today.  I went to Threaded Bliss Yarns in Nashville.  I had been in there just before the holidays, and it’s a bit smaller shop than the one I went to last weekend that caused the horrible allergic reaction, so I had high hopes that I’d be able to survive a shopping trip.  Just in case, though, I carried some Benadryl along with me.

Well, when we (DH and I) got there, it was a bit busy, a few people shopping and a whole bunch just sitting and knitting.  Still, I gave it a shot.  I probably stared at yarn in there for a good 30+ minutes, and finally settled on two skeins of Blue Sky Alpaca Silk, which is a 50/50 blend of silk and alpaca fibers.  I have read that alpaca produces the least allergic reactions in people with wool allergies, and I’ve used an acrylic/alpaca blend that didn’t bother me at all, so I figured it was worth a shot.  The colorway is #114, Wisteria, and it’s just beautiful.  Sadly, it’s just under 300 yards total for the two skeins (and just over $25 with tax!!), so I’m not sure yet what I will make from it.  Still, with this purchase, I now can say that I truly have a stash!  🙂

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
