RSS

Itch of a day…

12 Jan

OK – so most of you are not going to “get” this, but I just need to whine briefly.  I’m a relatively new knitter, having finally managed to figure this out with plenty of knittinghelp.com assistance in November 2007.  Of course, I quickly became addicted to knitting, and this presents a challenge for me, because I am (truly) allergic to wool – all wool, not just plain wool, but all of it, even cashmere.  Sigh.  So, while working on my very first sweater in an all-acrylic yarn that I love looking at and hate using (but is what the pattern called for), I decided that I needed a 2nd project OTN, something to work on that would be a little smaller than this bulky sweater and would not frustrate me by being difficult yarn. 

So off I went to a check out a yarn shop in Nashville, some 35 miles from home (there’s nothing closer to home), hubby, younger son and two friends in tow.  I was looking for some nice cotton or other natural non-wool fiber with which to make a little sleeveless top for summer, and I have a pattern in hand, but it calls for a metallic yarn, something else that I’m allergic to (yeesh!!).  It’s a busy day in the yarn shop, and one of the clerks was at lunch or something, to boot, so I had to wait a while to get the attention of someone who could help me find the right type of yarn for what I was doing.  I didn’t touch the wool, I didn’t even hang out near the wool.  I was cruising around the cottons and silks and rayons and such.  But OTHER people were checking out the wools, and sorting through the stacks and touching them and passing by me. 

Now anyone who is truly wool allergic should probably know by now that wool sheds – microscopic bits of wool float around in the air when wool is handled.  And the longer I wait, the more I itched.  As ridiculous as it may seem, I wound up not buying anything, not just because my bargain-hunting soul was a little overwhelmed by $10 for 73 yds of cotton, but more because I was so darned itchy I could concentrate on the yarns anyway!!

So, we left.  And we drove a while to get back into our town, stopped for lunch, then dropped off the men in the party (my hubby, her hubby and my son), and ran a couple more errands – Hobby Lobby, Joann, and then home.  Then dinner and some socializing.  Finally, around 9:30 I got to take a shower.  All afternoon and evening long, I was aware that I was still itchy, but trying to block it out.  Stupid me.  When I undressed to shower, I realized that I actually had HIVES on my shoulders, upper arms, chest and belly.  Unbelievable!

So I guess my lesson-learned is to either shop for great yarn on-line or to visit the LYS on a less-busy day! 

 
 

Tags:

One response to “Itch of a day…

  1. Marsha

    January 21, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Sorry to hear about your wool allergy! It sounds most unpleasant!

    A local friend of mine is also allergic to wool, and she raves about Amy Singer’s book, No Sheep for You: Knit Happy with Cotton, Silk, Linen, Hemp, Bamboo & Other Delights. There are great patterns in there as well as general advice for those who are allergic to wool.

    Good luck!

     

Leave a Reply

 
